• Swann's War

    Swann's War

    Oren, Michael B.

    Mary Beth Swann has taken over as police captain on a small New England fishing island while her husband is away fighting in World War II. When a POW from a hastily built military prison is found murdered, quiet island life changes. As more bodies appear, Swann must track down the killer while dealing with her own insecurities, unhelpful islanders, and patronizing military officers.

    Format: Book

    View Swann's War
  • When We Had Wings

    When We Had Wings

    Lawhon, Ariel

    "Based on real history and alternating between three perspectives, When We Had Wings tells an amazingly moving story of heroic service, perseverance in the darkest of days, and the hope of the human spirit"--

    Format: Book

    View When We Had Wings
  • Murder at the Majestic Hotel

    Murder at the Majestic Hotel

    McKenna, Clara

    "Leaving behind tragedies surrounding their wedding at Morrington Hall, travel-worn Stella and Lyndy arrive at the grand Majestic Hotel in York to more misfortune--their stately honeymoon suite has been given away to Horace Wingrove, owner of England's largest confectionery. Stella refuses to let an innocent booking mistake spoil the mood, but her optimism vanishes when Horace suffocates in the room where she and Lyndy should have stayed... Unlike authorities on the scene, Stella can't believe the business magnate's death can be explained away as an accident ... As Stella and Lyndy tour Yorkshire and mingle with royals as husband and...

    Format: Book

    View Murder at the Majestic Hotel
  • The Bride of Blackfriars Lane

    The Bride of Blackfriars Lane

    Griep, Michelle

    The Continuing Adventure of Jackson and Kit! Detective Jackson Forge can hardly wait to marry the street-sly swindler who's turned his life upside down. Kit Turner is equally excited to wed the handsome detective, and what better way to show her love than providing him with a gift any man of the law would love? She determines to bring to justice the men who years ago maimed his brother--despite Jackson's warning to leave the past in the past. As she digs into the mystery of what happened, she unwittingly tumbles into her own history and endangers her future happiness with...

    Format: Book

    View The Bride of Blackfriars Lane
  • The Picture Bride

    The Picture Bride

    Yi, Kŭm-i

    "'Your husband is a landowner,' they told her. 'Food and clothing is so plentiful, it grows on trees. 'You will be able to go to school.' Of the three lies the matchmaker told Willow before she left home as a picture bride in 1918, the third hurt the most. Never one to be deterred, Willow does all that she can to make the best of her unexpected circumstance. But it isn't long before her dreams for this new life are shattered, first by a husband who never wanted to marry her in the first place, and then by the escalation...

    Format: Book

    View The Picture Bride
  • Fire and the Ore

    Fire and the Ore

    Hawker, Olivia

    Three spirited wives in nineteenth-century Utah. One husband. A compelling novel of family, sisterhood, and survival by the Washington Post bestselling author of One for the Blackbird, One for the Crow. 1856. Three women-once strangers-come together in unpredictable Utah Territory. Hopeful, desperate, and willful, they'll allow nothing on earth or in Heaven to stand in their way. Following the call of their newfound Mormon faith, Tamar Loader and her family weather a brutal pilgrimage from England to Utah, where Tamar is united with her destined husband, Thomas Ricks. Clinging to a promise for the future, she abides an unexpected surprise:...

    Format: Book

    View Fire and the Ore
  • Under the Starry Skies

    Under the Starry Skies

    Peterson, Tracie

    "When an accident leaves Cassandra Barton incapacitated, she spends her time compiling a book of stories about the men working on the Santa Fe Railroad. But worry grows as revolutionaries set out to destroy the railroad. As the danger intensifies, Cassie and her longtime friend Brandon must rely on their faith to overcome the obstacles that stand in the way"--

    Format: Book

    View Under the Starry Skies
  • A Christmas Deliverance

    A Christmas Deliverance

    Perry, Anne

    "A courageous doctor and his apprentice fight to save London's poor--and discover that the hearts of men can be colder than a winter chill--in this gripping holiday mystery from New York Times bestselling author Anne Perry. Scuff has come a long way from his time as a penniless orphan scraping together a living on the banks of the Thames. Now he's studying medicine at a free clinic run by Dr. Crowe. Lately Crowe has grown distracted after witnessing an altercation between a former patient of his named Ellie--a woman he not only treated but grew to love--and her controlling fiancé....

    Format: Book

    View A Christmas Deliverance
  • The Invincible Miss Cust

    The Invincible Miss Cust

    Haw, Penny

    "Must-read historical fiction for fans of Marie Benedict and Tracey Enerson Wood, based on the real life of Britain's first woman veterinary surgeon. Aleen Cust has big dreams. And no one-not her family, society, or the law-will stop her. Born in Ireland in 1868 to an aristocratic English family, Aleen knows she is destined to work with animals, even if her family is appalled by the idea of a woman pursuing a veterinary career. Going against their wishes but with the encouragement of the guardian assigned to her upon her father's death, Aleen attends the New Veterinary College in Edinburgh,...

    Format: Book

    View The Invincible Miss Cust
  • A House Divided

    A House Divided

    Cutler, Judith

    "May 1861, Victorian England. When Matthew and Harriet Rowsley are invited to a house party at Clunston Park by Matthew's cousin, Colonel Barrington Rowsley and his wife Lady Hortensia, Harriet is nervous - surely the aristocratic guests will snub her? After all, they are but mere servants in their eyes! Her fears are realized on their first evening when the only person who deigns to speak to her is the spiteful Grafin Weiser and confirmed when she commits a major faux-pas at the cricket match the following day. But there's no escape! The cricket match is abandoned due to a...

    Format: Book

    View A House Divided