• The Hill We Climb: An Inaugural Poem for the Country

    The Hill We Climb: An Inaugural Poem for the Country

    Gorman, Amanda

    "On January 20, 2021, Amanda Gorman became the sixth and youngest poet, at age twenty-two, to deliver a poetry reading at a presidential inauguration. Her inaugural poem, "The Hill We Climb," is now available to cherish in this special edition."--

    Format: Book

    Availability: Available

    View The Hill We Climb: An Inaugural Poem for the Country
  • Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir

    Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir

    Ha, Robin

    "A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life--perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. For as long as she can remember, it's been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn't always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together. So when a vacation to visit friends in Huntsville, Alabama, unexpectedly becomes a permanent relocation--following her mother's announcement that she's getting married--Robin is devastated. Overnight, her life changes. She is dropped into a new school where she doesn't understand the language and struggles to keep up. She is completely cut off from her friends in Seoul and has no access to her beloved comics. At home, she doesn't fit in with her new stepfamily, and worst of all, she is furious with the one person she is closest to--her mother. Then one day Robin's mother enrolls her in a local comic drawing class, which opens the window to a future Robin could never have imagined"--Amazon.com.

    Format: Graphic Novel

    Availability: All copies in use

    View Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir
  • The Black Friend: On Being A Better White Person

    The Black Friend: On Being A Better White Person

    Joseph, Frederick

    Frederick Joseph call up race-related anecdotes from his past, explaining why they were hurtful and how he might handle things now. Each chapter features the voice of at least one artist or activist, including Angie Thomas, author of The Hate U Give; April Reign, creator of #OscarsSoWhite; Jemele Hill, sports journalist and podcast host; and eleven others. Touching on everything from cultural appropriation to power dynamics, "reverse racism" to white privilege, microaggressions to the tragic results of overt racism, this book serves as conversation starter, tool kit, and invaluable window into the life of a former "token Black kid" who now presents himself as the friend many readers need. -- adapted from inside front jacket flap.

    Format: Book

    Availability: All copies in use

    View The Black Friend: On Being A Better White Person
  • The Light of Days: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos

    The Light of Days: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos

    Batalion, Judith

    Witnesses to the murder of their families and the destruction of their communities, a cadre of Jewish women in Poland became the nerves of a wide-ranging resistance network that fought the Nazis. The Light of Days reveials the real history of these women whose little-known feats have been eclipsed by time.

    Format: Book

    Availability: All copies in use

    View The Light of Days: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
  • Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art

    Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art

    McCloud, Scott

    "You must read this book." --Neil Gaiman The bestselling international classic on storytelling and visual communication. Praised throughout the cartoon industry by such luminaries as Art Spiegelman, Matt Groening, and Will Eisner, Scott McCloud's Understanding Comics is a seminal examination of comics art: its rich history, surprising technical components, and major cultural significance. Explore the secret world between the panels, through the lines, and within the hidden symbols of a powerful but misunderstood art form. (syndetics)

    Format: Book

    Availability: All copies in use

    View Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art
  • Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You : A Remix of the National Book Award-winning Stamped From the Beginning

    Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You : A Remix of the National Book Award-winning Stamped From the Beginning

    Reynolds, Jason

    "The construct of race has always been used to gain and keep power, to create dynamics that separate and silence. Racist ideas are woven into the fabric of this country, and the first step to building an antiracist America is acknowledging America's racist past and present. This book takes you on that journey, showing how racist ideas started and were spread, and how they can be discredited"--Dust jacket flap.

    Format: Book

    Availability: Available

    View Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You : A Remix of the National Book Award-winning Stamped From the Beginning
  • Blue Chip Kids: What Every Child (and Parent) Should Know About Money, Investing, and the Stock Market

    Blue Chip Kids: What Every Child (and Parent) Should Know About Money, Investing, and the Stock Market

    Bianchi, David W.

    The essential guide to being smart about money and investing Blue Chip Kids: What Every Child (and Parent) Should Know About Money, Investing, and the Stock Market is a fun and easy-to-understand introduction to the world of money and investing for kids and parents. Frustrated by the lack of entertaining financial teaching materials for his 13-year-old son, this book is the result of a father's commitment to pass on one of life's most important skills. Written by David W. Bianchi--an investor and lawyer with an economics degree from Tufts University--this hands-on resource demystifies the basic principles about money matters and shows what it takes to spend, save, and invest wisely. Filled with simple examples and numerous illustrations, this easy-to-read book discusses money and investing in 100 bite-size topics. For every parent who wants their children to develop the skills to invest wisely and become responsible money managers, regular savers, and to earn money while they sleep, this book is a must-have. (syndetics)

    Format: Book

    Availability: All copies in use

    View Blue Chip Kids: What Every Child (and Parent) Should Know About Money, Investing, and the Stock Market
  • Human Body Theater: A Nonfiction Revue

    Human Body Theater: A Nonfiction Revue

    Wicks, Maris

    "Welcome to the Human Body Theater, where your master of ceremonies is going to lead you through a theatrical revue of each and every biological system of the human body! Starting out as a skeleton, the MC puts on a new layer of her costume (her body) with each "act." By turns goofy and intensely informative, the Human Body Theater is always accessible and always entertaining." --

    Format: Graphic Novel

    Availability: All copies in use

    View Human Body Theater: A Nonfiction Revue
  • The Lemon Tree: An Arab, A Jew, and the Heart of the Middle East

    The Lemon Tree: An Arab, A Jew, and the Heart of the Middle East

    Tolan, Sandy

    "In 1967, Bashir Khairi, a twenty-five-year-old Palestinian, journeyed to Israel with the goal of seeing the beloved stone house with the lemon tree behind it that he and his family had fled nineteen years earlier. To his surprise, when he found the house he was greeted by Dalia Eshkenazi Landau, a nineteen-year-old Israeli college student, whose family left fled Europe for Israel following the Holocaust. On the stoop of their shared home, Dalia and Bashir began a rare friendship, forged in the aftermath of war and tested over the next half century in ways that neither could imagine on that summer day in 1967. Sandy Tolan brings the Israeli-Palestinian conflict down to its most human level, demonstrating that even amid the bleakest political realities there exist stories of hope and transformation"--

    Format: Book

    Availability: All copies in use

    View The Lemon Tree: An Arab, A Jew, and the Heart of the Middle East
  • The Cat I Never Named: A True Story of Love, War, and Survival

    The Cat I Never Named: A True Story of Love, War, and Survival

    Sabic-El-Rayess, Amra

    In Bihac, Bosnia, in 1992, sixteen-year-old Amra and her family face starvation and the threat of brutal ethnic violence as Serbs and Bosnians clash, while a stray cat, Maci, provides solace. (6/16/2021 6:35:19 AM)

    Format: Book

    Availability: All copies in use

    View The Cat I Never Named: A True Story of Love, War, and Survival