• Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir

    Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir

    Ha, Robin

    "A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life--perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. For as long as she can remember, it's been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn't always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together. So when a vacation to visit friends in Huntsville, Alabama, unexpectedly becomes a permanent relocation--following her mother's announcement that she's getting married--Robin is devastated. Overnight, her life changes. She is dropped into a new school where she doesn't understand the language and struggles to keep up. She is completely cut off from her friends in Seoul and has no access to her beloved comics. At home, she doesn't fit in with her new stepfamily, and worst of all, she is furious with the one person she is closest to--her mother. Then one day Robin's mother enrolls her in a local comic drawing class, which opens the window to a future Robin could never have imagined"--Amazon.com.

    Format: Graphic Novel

    Availability: All copies in use

    View Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir
  • The Light of Days: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos

    The Light of Days: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos

    Batalion, Judith

    Witnesses to the murder of their families and the destruction of their communities, a cadre of Jewish women in Poland became the nerves of a wide-ranging resistance network that fought the Nazis. The Light of Days reveials the real history of these women whose little-known feats have been eclipsed by time.

    Format: Book

    Availability: All copies in use

    View The Light of Days: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
  • Rich Dad Poor Dad for Teens: The Secrets About Money--that You Don't Learn in School

    Rich Dad Poor Dad for Teens: The Secrets About Money--that You Don't Learn in School

    Kiyosaki, Robert T.

    An age-appropriate guide encourages the development of confident and responsible money skills, providing case examples, sidebars, and attitude recommendations that demonstrate how to achieve security in today's challenging job market.

    Format: Book

    Availability: All copies in use

    View Rich Dad Poor Dad for Teens: The Secrets About Money--that You Don't Learn in School
  • The Black Friend: On Being A Better White Person

    The Black Friend: On Being A Better White Person

    Joseph, Frederick

    Frederick Joseph call up race-related anecdotes from his past, explaining why they were hurtful and how he might handle things now. Each chapter features the voice of at least one artist or activist, including Angie Thomas, author of The Hate U Give; April Reign, creator of #OscarsSoWhite; Jemele Hill, sports journalist and podcast host; and eleven others. Touching on everything from cultural appropriation to power dynamics, "reverse racism" to white privilege, microaggressions to the tragic results of overt racism, this book serves as conversation starter, tool kit, and invaluable window into the life of a former "token Black kid" who now presents himself as the friend many readers need. -- adapted from inside front jacket flap.

    Format: Book

    Availability: All copies in use

    View The Black Friend: On Being A Better White Person
  • When Can We Go Back to America?: Voices of Japanese American Incarceration During World War II

    When Can We Go Back to America?: Voices of Japanese American Incarceration During World War II

    Kamei, Susan H.

    "An oral history about Japanese internment during World War II, after the bombing of Pearl Harbor, from the perspective of children and young people affected"--

    Format: Book

    Availability: All copies in use

    View When Can We Go Back to America?: Voices of Japanese American Incarceration During World War II
  • An Age of Science and Revolutions, 1600-1800

    An Age of Science and Revolutions, 1600-1800

    Huff, Toby E.

    An Age of Science and Revolutions, 1600-1800, tells the colorful story of a pivotal period in human history, an era that is crucial to understanding our own times. The expansion of trade and city life, the spread and reform of religious institutions, the rise of regional empires and localfeudal regimes, and revolutionary advances in science and technology laid the foundation for the modern world. Told through the words and experiences of the people who lived it- kings, queens, and commoners, priests and lay people, explorers, scientists, artists, and world travelers- this is a worldhistory for a new generation. (syndetics)

    Format: Book

    Availability: All copies in use

    View An Age of Science and Revolutions, 1600-1800
  • Life of Fred: Fractions

    Life of Fred: Fractions

    Schmidt, Stanley F.

    Format: Book

    Availability: Available

    View Life of Fred: Fractions
  • Life of Fred: Kidneys

    Life of Fred: Kidneys

    Schmidt, Stanley F.

    Format: Book

    Availability: All copies in use

    View Life of Fred: Kidneys
  • The Legend of Zelda: Hyrule Historia

    The Legend of Zelda: Hyrule Historia

    Gives historical information on The Legend of Zelda franchise, including the history of Hyrule and the official chronology of the games.

    Format: Book

    Availability: All copies in use

    View The Legend of Zelda: Hyrule Historia
  • You Don't Have to Be Everything: Poems for Girls Becoming Themselves

    You Don't Have to Be Everything: Poems for Girls Becoming Themselves

    Poetry awakens your inner world and makes all your feelings come alive. The poems in this collection-- chosen with girls in mind-- sing of diversity, self-discovery, and self-acceptance. Grouped by emotional experience, the poems give the reader permission to let go of shame and perfectionism. By accepting your own contradictions, you can embrace the fullness of who you are-- and of who you are becoming. -- adapted from flaps. (9/26/2021 5:59:22 PM)

    Format: Book

    Availability: All copies in use

    View You Don't Have to Be Everything: Poems for Girls Becoming Themselves