• When the Goddess Wakes

    When the Goddess Wakes

    Jones, Howard A.

    "In When the Goddess Wakes, the final book of the Ring-Sworn trilogy, Howard Andrew Jones returns to the five realms of the Dendressi to conclude his heroic, adventure-filled epic fantasy trilogy. The Naor hordes have been driven from the walls, but the Dendressi forces are scattered and fragmented, and their gravest threat lies before them. For their queen has slain the ruling council and fled with the magical artifacts known as the hearthstones, and she is only a few days from turning them to her mad ends. The Altenerai corps has suffered grievous casualties, and Elenai's hearthstone and her source...

    Format: Book

    View When the Goddess Wakes
  • L.A. Weather

    L.A. Weather

    Escandón, María Amparo

    "FORECAST: Storm clouds are on the horizon in L.A. Weather, a fun, fast-paced novel of an affluent Mexican-American family from the author of the #1 Los Angeles Times bestseller Esperanza's Box of Saints L.A. is parched, dry as a bone, and all Oscar, the weather-obsessed patriarch of the Alvarado family, desperately wants is a little rain. He's harboring a costly secret that distracts him from everything else. His wife, Keila, desperate for a life with a little more intimacy and a little less Weather Channel, feels she has no choice but to end their marriage. Their three daughters-Claudia, a television...

    Format: Book

    View L.A. Weather
  • The Actual Star

    The Actual Star

    Byrne, Monica

    Through the epic saga of three reincarnated souls, this book takes readers on a journey over thousands of years and six continents where it demonstrates the entanglements of tradition and progress, sister and stranger, love and hate.

    Format: Book

    View The Actual Star
  • No Gods, No Monsters

    No Gods, No Monsters

    Turnbull, Cadwell

    "One October morning, Laina gets the news that her brother was shot and killed by Boston cops. But what looks like a case of police brutality soon reveals something much stranger. Monsters are real. And they want everyone to know it. As creatures from myth and legend come out of the shadows, seeking safety through visibility, their emergence sets off a chain of seemingly unrelated events. Members of a local werewolf pack are threatened into silence. A professor follows a missing friend's trail of bread crumbs to a mysterious secret society. And a young boy with unique abilities seeks refuge...

    Format: Book

    View No Gods, No Monsters
  • More Than I Love My Life

    More Than I Love My Life

    Grossman, David

    "From the internationally best-selling author--and revered moral voice--a remarkable novel of suffering, love, and healing, the story of three generations of women and a secret that needs to be told. The story was inspired by the life of a friend and confidante of David Grossman who, in the late 1940s, was imprisoned and tortured on the notorious Goli Otok, a barren island prison off the coast of Croatia. Grossman's telling focuses on three strong women--Vera, 90; her daughter, Nina; and her granddaughter, Gili, who at 39 years old is a filmmaker and a wary consumer of affection. A bitter secret...

    Format: Book

    View More Than I Love My Life
  • 19 Yellow Moon Road

    19 Yellow Moon Road

    Michaels, Fern

    "Maggie Spritzer's nose for a story doesn't just make her a top-notch newspaper editor, it also tells her when to go the extra mile for a friend. When she gets a strange message from her journalism pal, Gabby Richardson, Maggie knows her services are needed. Gabby has become involved with The Haven, a commune that promises to guide its members toward a more spiritually fulfilling life. But Gabby's enthusiasm has turned to distrust ever since she was refused permission to leave the compound to visit her sick mother. Maggie wants to learn more about The Haven, and the Sisterhood is...

    Format: Book

    View 19 Yellow Moon Road
  • Moon and the Mars

    Moon and the Mars

    Corthron, Kia

    ""Rarely does one encounter a book that can so profoundly change a reader. Moon and the Mars is that book. Corthron, a true heir to James Baldwin, presents a startlingly original exposure of the complex roots of American racism and classism as well as a sweeping exploration of love in all its myriad forms. The best work of fiction I have read in many years." -Naomi Wallace, MacArthur "Genius" Playwriting Fellow and author of One Flea Spare Set in the impoverished Five Points district of New York City in the years 1857-1863, we experience neighborhood life through the eyes of...

    Format: Book

    View Moon and the Mars
  • A Million Things

    A Million Things

    Spurr, Emily

    "A bursting, heartfelt debut following fifty-five days in the life of ten-year-old Rae, who must look after herself and her dog when her mother disappears. For as long as Rae can remember, it's always just been her, Mum, and their dog, Splinter. They don't have a lot, but that's fine, because they like keeping their world small. They have their walks, their cooking routines, and sometimes Mum will disappear for a little while to clear her head, but Rae is okay with this, because Mum always comes back. But one day, Rae wakes up to Splinter's nose in her face,...

    Format: Book

    View A Million Things
  • Requiem of Silence

    Requiem of Silence

    Penelope, L.

    "In the vein of K. Arsenault Rivera and V.E. Schwab comes L. Penelope's Requiem of Silence, the epic conclusion in the stunning Earthsinger Chronicles. Civil unrest plagues the nation of Elsira as refugees from their old enemy Lagrimar seek new lives in their land. Queen Jasminda is determined to push the unification forward, against growing opposition and economic strife. But the True Father is not finished with Elsira and he may not be acting alone. He has built a powerful army. An army that cannot be killed. An army that can only be stopped by Nethersong and the help of...

    Format: Book

    View Requiem of Silence
  • Highland Thief

    Highland Thief

    McLayne, Alyson

    When a Highland laird decides to marry, nothing can stand in his way...not even the bride. No one ever accused Kerr MacAlister of being a nice man. Everyone would agree, however, that when the laird makes a promise, nothing can stop him. Which is why everyone knows Isobel MacKinnon will end up his wife. Isobel spent most of her childhood in love with the tall, dark, and sexy Scot. It wasn't until she was fifteen and failed to entice Kerr into kissing her that things turned sour. Now, Kerr is the one trying to entice her, but Isobel won't be...

    Format: Book

    View Highland Thief