• The Darwin Affair

    The Darwin Affair

    Mason, Timothy

    Get ready for one of the most inventive and entertaining novels of 2019--an edge-of-your-seat Victorian-era thriller, where the controversial publication of On the Origin of Species sets off a string of unspeakable crimes. "Keep clear of his blade!" he cried. "Once cut, always kept!" LONDON, JUNE 1860: When an assassination attempt is made on Queen Victoria, and a petty thief is gruesomely murdered moments later--and only a block away--Chief Detective Inspector Charles Field quickly surmises that these crimes are connected to an even more sinister plot. Was Victoria really the assassin's target? Are those closest to the Crown hiding something? And who is this shadowy figure witnesses describe as having lifeless, coal-black eyes? Soon, Field's investigation exposes a shocking conspiracy in which the publication of Charles Darwin's On the Origin of Species sets off a string of murders, arson, kidnapping, and the pursuit of a diabolical madman named the Chorister. As the investigation takes Field from the dangerous alleyways of London to the hallowed halls of Oxford, the list of possible conspirators grows as the body count escalates. And as he edges closer to the Chorister, he uncovers dark secrets that were meant to remain forever hidden. With ingenuity, intelligence, and wit, debut novelist Tim Mason has created a powerfully entertaining thriller. For fans of Caleb Carr and Carlos Ruiz Zafón, The Darwin Affair is a rousing page-turner that both Charles Dickens and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle would relish and envy. (syndetics)

    Format: Book - 2019

    Holds: 1 on 6 copies

    View this item
  • Shadows Across America: A Thriller

    Shadows Across America: A Thriller

    Valcárcel, Guillermo

    Over the years, terrible things keep happening to Anna Ray on February 17. First, there was the childhood trauma she's never been able to speak about. Then, to her horror, her husband killed himself on that date. A year later and a thousand miles away, Anna tries to find solace in the fresh start of a new job in a new place. She takes comfort in her outspoken cousin Jeannie, the confidant and best friend who's there whenever she needs help. On the day of the dreaded anniversary, Anna and Jeannie hit the town, planning to ease the pain with an alcohol-induced stupor and then sleep. When Anna awakes the next morning, she thinks she can put one more February 17 behind her, but fate is about to intervene in the form of two gruesome murders with eerie similarities to her violent past. This time, however, she won't be an abandoned daughter or a grieving widow. This time, she'll be a suspect.--Provided by publisher.

    Format: Book - 2019

    Holds: 1 on 6 copies

    View this item
  • Seven Days

    Seven Days

    Senécal, Patrick

    "One sunny fall day, Bruno Hamel's life changes forever. His seven-year-old daughter, Jasmine, is raped and murdered, and Hamel sets in play a plan to kidnap her killer and make him pay for what he has done. He manages to ambush police and disappear with his target. But he hasn't accounted for Hervu00e9 Mercure, a detective with his own troubled past, who becomes certain he can track down Hamel by studying clues in the increasingly odd phone calls he begins to make. Both riveting and provocative, this gripping thriller examines the idea of what it means to be human-and to battle the monster both within and without."--

    Format: Book - 2019

    Holds: 0 on 6 copies

    View this item
  • Desert Gold: And, the Light of Western Stars

    Desert Gold: And, the Light of Western Stars

    Grey, Zane

    Desert Gold: "While rescuing a lovely Spanish maiden from Mexican rebels, former Union soldier Dick Gale partners up with a pair of rough-hewn cowboys. The three men take refuge on the ranch of Tom Belding, where Gale finds a new mission, helping to breed fine horses and carving a settlement out of the wild landscape. But angry, greedy men have their eyes on the rich ranchlands--and the beautiful women who live there."--Page [4] cover.

    Format: Book - 2018

    Holds: 1 on 6 copies

    View this item
  • The Good Soldier Švejk: And His Fortunes in the World War

    The Good Soldier Švejk: And His Fortunes in the World War

    Hašek, Jaroslav

    Discover "perhaps the funniest novel ever written"(The Guardian ), now lovingly reissued from Harper Perennial Modern Classics "The classic comic novel of the First World War." -- The New Yorker * "A literary masterpiece." -- New York Review of Books * "One of the greatest works of 20th century literature." -- Boston Globe Jaroslav Hasek's The Good Soldier Svejk follows the adventures of Josef Svejk, a boisterous and sometimes bumbling (or brilliantly subversive?) Czech soldier, as he navigates the trials of World War I. Thrust into the Austro-Hungarian Empire's army in 1914, Svejk, "one of the great characters of 20th century literature" (New Republic), embarks on a wild trip through war-ravaged Europe as he fakes illnesses, is captured by his own men, and takes on various quixotic quests to avoid arriving at the front lines, always with a bizarre--and often hilarious--anecdote at the ready. Predating countercultural American classics like Catch-22 by a generation, The Good Soldier Svejk was the first great antiwar satire, and still one of the finest ever written. (syndetics)

    Format: Book - 2018

    Holds: 2 on 5 copies

    View this item
  • Walt Disney's Mickey Mouse: [Volume 6], \

    Walt Disney's Mickey Mouse: [Volume 6], \

    Gottfredson, Floyd

    "Floyd Gottfredson produced a canon of legendary, rip roaring tales starring Mickey as a daring, two fisted hero in a world famous series of legendary adventures! Lost in Lands of Long Ago also includes several other stories and more than 30 pages of prehistoric extras! You will enjoy rare behind the scenes art, vintage publicity material, and fascinating commentary by a clan of Disney cave bears."--Amazon.

    Format: Book - 2014

    Holds: 1 on 2 copies

    View this item
  • The Hypnotist's Love Story

    The Hypnotist's Love Story

    Moriarty, Liane

    Pursuing what she hopes will be a positive relationship with new boyfriend Patrick, hypnotherapist Ellen learns that his ex-girlfriend is stalking him, a situation that Ellen finds professionally fascinating before discovering the woman's identity.

    Format: Book - 2013

    Holds: 0 on 8 copies

    View this item
  • A Journal of the Plague Year

    A Journal of the Plague Year

    Defoe, Daniel

    Presents seventeenth-century author Daniel Defoe's fictionalized account of what it was like to live in London in 1665 when the city was in the grip of plague.

    Format: Book - 2003

    Holds: 0 on 6 copies

    View this item
  • Mensah

    Mensah

    Anyetei, Gbontwi

    MODERN & CONTEMPORARY FICTION (POST C 1945). 'Mensah' is a London crime novel with a difference. It is set in the deprived streets of Hackney amongst the African community, a stone's throw away from the affluent and gentrified parts of the borough and Islington. It pays homage to Raymond Chandler and introduces us to the charismatic Mensah, a black hero for our times. Mensah is the kind of man you go looking for when you have a problem. He will solve your problem for a price. He might cause mayhem and carnage on the way, but he will get the job done. So when a would-be African pop star disappears, her rich husband puts Mensah on the case. Soon things start to go wrong and Mensah finds he is the one being hunted. The mean streets of Hackney spell danger for Mensah. Mensah is one of the great London novels as it introduces the reader to an African city in the heart of London.

    Format: Book - 2017

    Holds: 1 on 5 copies

    View this item
  • Stud Princess

    Stud Princess

    N'Tyse

    Chyna is on a murder-mission hunt for the crooked lawyer who double-crossed her uncle, and the latest addition to the family brings her one step closer to that sweet revenge. This ruthless queen-pin owns the day and the night. Mother Nature herself can't interrupt her cash flow. But when bad calls are made and her chief female "escort" goes missing, it's time to set things off. Sand and Rene can admit that they haven't always been honest with one another, but are they ready to forgive and forget, or are the wounds too fresh? When each one finds herself being blackmailed into working for Chyna, it's no coincidence. They go against the grain to prove their love for one another, bearing in mind whose turf they're treading on. An unrelenting thirst for notorious revenge has Chyna, Sand, and Rene riding out, hanging low, and staking out their highest claims yet. (1/17/2019 4:04:23 PM)

    Format: Book - 2018

    Holds: 0 on 8 copies

    View this item