• The Waiting Place

    The Waiting Place

    Nayeri, Dina

    "The Waiting Place is an unflinching look at ten young lives suspended outside of time--and bravely proceeding anyway. Each lyrical passage leads the reader from one story to the next, revealing the dreams, ambitions, and personalities of each displaced child. The stories are punctuated by intimate photographs, followed by the author's reflections on life in a refugee camp. Locking the global refugee crisis sharply in focus, The Waiting Place is an urgent call to change what we teach young people about the nature of home and safety."--

    Format: Book

    View The Waiting Place
  • Naked

    Naked

    Daguzan Bernier, Myriam

    "This nonfiction encyclopedia introduces teens to practical information about sexuality from A to Z. It explains 150 body-related terms and is illustrated throughout."--

    Format: Book

    View Naked
  • Inheritance

    Inheritance

    Acevedo, Elizabeth

    "In her most famous spoken-word poem, author of the Pura Belpré-winning novel-in-verse The Poet X Elizabeth Acevedo embraces all the complexities of Black hair and Afro-Latinidad--the history, pain, pride, and powerful love of that inheritance. Paired with full-color illustrations by artist Andrea Pippins in a format that will appeal to fans of Mahogany L. Browne's Black Girl Magic or Jason Reynolds's For Everyone, this poem can now be read in a vibrant package, making it the ideal gift, treasure, or inspiration for readers of any age." --provided by Goodreads.

    Format: Book

    View Inheritance
  • Unequal

    Unequal

    Dyson, Michael Eric

    "Interconnected stories present a picture of racial inequality in America, showing systemic discrimination in all areas of society and showing the unbroken line of Black resistance to this inequality"--

    Format: Book

    View Unequal
  • Who Is Colin Kaepernick?

    Who Is Colin Kaepernick?

    Wilson, Lakita

    "On August 14, 2016, NFL quarterback Colin Kaepernick began a protest when he refused to stand for the national anthem. He wanted to make a statement about the oppression of people of color in the United States after he had spent a summer speaking out against police brutality. After playing professional football for six seasons, that would become Colin Kaepernick's last season in the NFL, but he would go on to become one of the most prominent activists of today"--

    Format: Book

    View Who Is Colin Kaepernick?
  • When A Friend Dies

    When A Friend Dies

    Gootman, Marilyn E.

    "The death of a friend is a wrenching event for anyone at any age and can spark feelings that range from sadness to guilt to anxiety. Teenagers especially need help coping with grief and loss. This sensitive book answers questions grieving teens often have, like "How should I be acting?" "How long will this last?" and "What if I can't handle my grief on my own?" The book also addresses the complicated emotions that can accompany the death of an acquaintance, as opposed to a close friend. The advice is gentle, non-preachy, and compassionate; recommended for parents and teachers of...

    Format: Book

    View When A Friend Dies
  • In the Name of Emmett Till

    In the Name of Emmett Till

    Mayer, Robert H.

    "The killing of Emmett Till is widely remembered today as one of the most famous examples of lynchings in America. African American children in 1955 personally felt the terror of his murder. These children, however, would rise up against the culture that made Till's death possible. From the violent Woolworth's lunch-counter sit-ins in Jackson to the school walkouts of McComb, the young people of Mississippi picketed, boycotted, organized, spoke out, and marched, working to reveal the vulnerability of black bodies and the ugly nature of the world they lived in. These children changed that world. In the Name of Emmett...

    Format: Book

    View In the Name of Emmett Till
  • Pauli Murray's Revolutionary Life

    Pauli Murray's Revolutionary Life

    Kuznick, Simki

    "Inspiring and timely, Pauli Murray's Revolutionary Life is the riveting story of an African American woman, born in 1910, who blazed through the barriers of race and gender decades before the Civil Rights and Women's Movements. Pauli Murray fearlessly rode freight trains dressed as a boy during the Great Depression and befriended First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt before embarking on a pioneering life of social activism, legal scholarship, and many firsts. In 1944, Pauli graduated first in her class at Howard University; in 1965, she was the first Black woman to earn a doctorate in law from Yale University; in 1966,...

    Format: Book

    View Pauli Murray's Revolutionary Life
  • The Awesome Autistic Go-to Guide

    The Awesome Autistic Go-to Guide

    Purkis, Yenn

    This book explores what it feels like to be a young person on the autism spectrum and looks at all the brilliant things people on the autism spectrum can do.Full of insights about being awesome and autistic, this book celebrates the strengths of understanding the world in a different way. It looks at all the reasons being you and thinking differently can be totally awesome! It also has tips for managing tricky situations such as meltdowns, sensory differences and anxiety. It includes fun activities and diary pages where you can write your thoughts and feelings to help you concentrate on...

    Format: Book

    View The Awesome Autistic Go-to Guide
  • The Greatest Stories Ever Played

    The Greatest Stories Ever Played

    Hansen, Dustin

    "A lifelong gamer with over 20-years experience in the gaming industry examines the storytelling skills in some of the most beloved and moving games of the past thirty years in this fun and informative YA non-fiction title"--

    Format: Book

    View The Greatest Stories Ever Played